Discover Romsey

RSL Spirit of Anzac Award Night Winner Matthew Doherty

On Wednesday evening (24th August) the RSL presented their Spirit of Anzac Award at the Romsey Community Hub. Wayne Smith (former RSL sub-branch secretary donated the bronze statue).

Nominations included: Michael Richardson, Heldi Carroll, Alan Lever, Russell Neyland, Romsey RRBATA, Sally Potts, Brodie Murphy, Dr Greg Powell and Melinda Skinner.

The winner was Matthew Doherty, a Year 6 student from Romsey Primary School, for his contribution to fundraising for the Leukaemia Foundation.

Matthew Doherty 'Spirit of Anzac Award' winner 2011

(Photo by Bill West: Kilmore Free Press)

Matthew received a cheque for $150, a bronze statue (to be retained in the Romsey Hub) and a medallion.

It is pleasing to see that their are young members of our community with such Spirit. Throughout Australia there are over 600,000 volunteers working hard in communities like Lancefield and Romsey.

Special thanks to the Romsey Lancefield RSL Sub branch for this Community Award and to Mayor Cr McLaughlin, Cr Joan Donovan, Cr Joe Morabito for their support on the night.